Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Sock challenge – April

on May 13, 2016

I actually finished these last Saturday, so only a week late!

Lacy socks by Regia made with an indie dyed purple yak-blend.

I love them but the pattern was a real trial to interpret. I’m not entirely happy with a couple of elements which I think I did wrong but I’m a copious note taker when unsure so at least both socks have the same mistakes.

I had to make up the toes entirely because the pattern seemed set to make them ridiculously long!

The pictures were taken before blocking and it’s actually the first time I’ve noticed a significant difference post-blocking so definitely worth the time.

I don’t think I’ll make another pair of these and, to be honest, it will probably put me off Regia patterns for a while (a shame really because there’s a lovely cabled pair in the same booklet).

The yarn is really amazing too, super soft and fun to knit with. I can’t wait to wear these (though I might be waiting until the autumn!)

I feel like I’m learning a lot on my sock journey already, these are perhaps the best fit I’ve managed so far and I’m super proud that I managed to interpret the pattern with minimal boo-boos and fudging.

Leave a Reply

