Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

The sock obsession develops

on April 27, 2016

I’ve told you about my sock obsession, right?

Well, I’ve decided to develop said obsession by making a pair a month (preferably using a different pattern for each).

Whether I’ll last beyond July is another matter…

Anyway, it all began with a pattern test for these knitted lovelies

img_20160124_202717104.jpgMoss Check Socks by Claire at Yarntastic, available on Ravelry

These were a lot of fun to make and will definitely go on my ‘to make again’ list.

February saw some crochet lovelies, the yarn and pattern for which came in a Halloween yarn box.

img_20160221_181816505.jpgSuper Gigantic Cluster F*ck Socks by Sarra at Magpie and Goblin, also available on Ravelry

I had a little problem with the fit due to my massive size 8s but posted on a crochet FB page and Sarra herself told me how to fix it!

It also turned out that I’d been doing my clusters wrong almost from the start but, since I was working them two at a time, we’re calling it a design feature.

Again,another one on the ‘to make again’ list.

Last month I moved away from indie patterns and yarn and knitted up some lace lovelies from Drops using… um… some green from my stash…

wp-1461087101412.jpgSea Steps socks by Drops, available for free!

I’m particularly fond of these and I think the solid yarn works really well with the lace pattern.

I’m really behind this month thanks to a fight with a non-sock crochet pattern.

But I have swatched and cast on this yummy purple yak blend

wp-1461087111343.jpg

To hopefully make these Regia goodies

wp-1461087084114.jpgRegia R0114 socks with lace edging

The pattern is a little complicated in how it’s written but I think I’ve got enough sock know-how to figure it out (or fudge it, whichever).

Next month, I’m thinking another crochet pattern. Mum and I have got a few days in London and I think crochet will travel better. I just need to choose a pattern…

Also on the list:
– aran cables
– a better fitting pair of Rye (also aran)
– xmas socks
-gifty socks
– baby socks

And of course, the ongoing mitred square socks (also know as ‘what was I thinking and when will it end!?’

That should keep me going for a while.

And on that note, it’s definitely time for a cuppa and some knitting!

2 responses to “The sock obsession develops

  1. sewchet says:

    I absolutely adore the fit and feel of hand knitted socks, but always put my toe through the end within a week which is SO disappointing. You might have size eights, but I have enormously elongated big toes and they ruin every pair of socks I own:( I love the variety you’ve created, but my faces are the green ones:)

Leave a Reply

