Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

FO: Woven scarf

on August 18, 2015

This scarf has been a labour of love but so worth it.

The idea came from Pinterest, an amazing picture popped up one day and I couldn’t get it out of my head. The original pin linked back to Etsy so I went on a Ravelry hunt and found the pattern here.

However, I wasn’t really in a position to pay the asking price so I did what any experienced knitter would do – made it up myself.

The stitch pattern itself is fairly simple, it’s the construction that adds the fabulousness!

I tried really hard to make the scarf out of some yummy natural dyed yarn that I’d bought at the Ickworth Wool Fair but there was nowhere near enough so I turned to my stash and found some Sirdar Click DK left over from a jumper project.

And without further ado…

Woven scarf (1) Woven scarf (2) Woven scarf (3) Woven scarf (7)

It definitely would have benefited from a good blocking but I couldn’t figure out quite how to manage it.

I also think that the woven section didn’t work as well as I would have liked but it looks pretty good on and I’m rather chuffed.

Obviously, I’m not going to post my own version of the pattern and I can’t say how well the pattern is written but it is such an unusual and brilliant idea, I’d definitely recommend a look.

Leave a Reply

