Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

New techniques – sock knitting

on July 9, 2015

Following on from my previous post…

In order to knit my yummy new socks, I had to learn a couple of new techniques.

The pattern, sport weight toe-up socks with gusset heel by Wendy Johnson, recommends the Turkish cast-on.

Seeing as I was out and about at the time, I turned to online resources and found a brilliant tutorial by Jane Richmond on YouTube.

The Turkish cast-on is, frankly, magic! It casts on the toe of the sock so essentially starts you off with a seamless pouch. I imagine it could be used for all kinds of other knitted goodies.

The Jane Richmond tutorial uses a long circular needles so it actually teaches you two techniques in one – the Turkish cast-on and the magic loop method.

Personally, I couldn’t get on with the magic loop. I’m already rather fond of my DPN’s, the pattern is written for them, and the magic loop seems a bit too fiddly.

The Turkish cast-on can be worked using DPNs but I found it tricky working with so many stitches.

Overall, I love the pattern. It’s well written and easy to follow, definitely a good place to start with sock knitting.

And my lovely sockies fit beautifully.

I’ll certainly be making more and perhaps trying some with a pattern next…

Leave a Reply

