Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

FO: more granny stripe socks!

on January 9, 2015

image

image

image

Squeeeeeeeeaaaaaak!!
Love the pattern, love the socks
For these yummy sockies, I used one ball of Stylecraft Carnival and a 5.5mm hook to get the tension right.
The yarn is a little slubby though, particularly at the beginning of the ball sometimes it’s almost super chunky, sometimes more like DK!
I was very conscious that I only had one ball of yarn so I actually worked both socks at once, one from the outer end of yarn and one from the inside end.
I was trying on as I went so my row count is different than the pattern and I altered the heel because it looked too pointy.
Because I was running short on yarn, the cuff is simply a couple of rows of DC.
I am a little disappointed because the heel and the toe both still look a bit pointy, the socks are a larger fit than I might have gone for and a little shorter than I might have liked
As a result, I’m sorely tempted to rip them out and start again…
I should probably weave my ends in before the temptation becomes too much!
What do you think?

5 responses to “FO: more granny stripe socks!

  1. I’m loving your socks – where did you get the pattern?

Leave a Reply

