Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

FO: granny stripe socks!

on January 7, 2015

Look, a matching pair!

DSCF4891

I’m so in love with this pattern

DSCF4892

A simple granny stripe with gentle shaping and a ribbed cuff

DSCF4893

My only issue was with my tension. I was using up yarn from my stash but it was all DK and with the stated hook size, I was off by about 2cm

To make matters worse, I was on holiday without my hooks!

Not one to be discouraged, I simply altered the pattern to make it large enough for my giant clown feet. I had to increase the initial starting chain but figuring out the shaping was fine because the increases and decreases on both the toe and the foot are at the edges

I also caused myself some problems by stranding the yarn up the sock instead of casting it off after each colour stripe. But I persevered and I love love love my socks

My next task will be deciding which ones to make next

I’ve bought some blues and a grey from Poundland

DSCF4898

And a couple of balls of variegated Stylecraft

DSCF4899

I realise these are chunky but I figure a) the carnival looks pretty lightweight and b) I’ve already adapted the pattern once, I’m sure I can do it again with plenty of swatching and some patience

So, my first pair of socks took me about a week (not monogamous) and approx 125g of DK yarn which works out to somewhere in the region of 350m.

With these figures in mind, I’m seriously thinking about making some to sell and making lots for gifts for next xmas

Oh and the basic pattern can be found in issue 26 of SImply Crochet or I’m sure there are plenty more out there

Leave a Reply

