Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

FO: Pieces of Eight mittens

on October 18, 2014

Wow, this is an amazing pattern. I came across it on Pinterest and knew I had to make it. When some yarn came up on a Facebook selling page that was perfect for the project I knew it was meant to be. And when I discovered the required needles already in my stash, the pieces all fell into place (haha, pun not intended)

Without further ado… TA DA!

Jpeg Jpeg Jpeg Jpeg

They have a lot more impact when photographed together but it makes it difficult to take a picture!

I love the fact that the pattern looks super complicated but is actually pretty simple and works up really quickly.

I had a couple of issues when it came to the three needle bind off to join the ‘eight’ and I’ve messed it up on the right mitt but I still think it looks amazing and I can’t wait to wear these beauties.

The pattern is available for free and has been translated into German for both 4ply and DK weight.

The yarn is King Cole Zig Zag and is fantastic to work with as well as coming in some lovely colourways.

There was some debate over how mismatched the mittens should be… most people lean toward matching but I went with mismatched and I’m chuffed with the results.

I think if I’d tried to match them, I would have gotten upset if they weren’t perfect so this way was much better.

I’ve got some more of the Zig Zag in a lovely purple mix and a dark blue mix so I’m thinking about xmas gifts… very happy Vix

3 responses to “FO: Pieces of Eight mittens

  1. They are gorgeous! Might have to copy you!

Leave a Reply

