Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Super simple cushion covers

on September 19, 2014

I’m sure I’m not the only one to have discovered this trick but I was so amazed at how quick and easy these cushion covers are to make that I just had to share it with you!

First off, make sure you’ve got a full width of fabric because this means beautiful secure edges without having to sew a decent hem (mostly, I’ll explain later)

As you can see, one edge is patterned all the way to the edge – this is the edge to keep on view CushionCovers (2)

Measure your cushion and cut the fabric to about the same size, when you’ve sewn up the cushion will be nicely snug in the cover

CushionCovers (1)

Lay your strip of fabric wrong side down and fold in the edge to be seen

CushionCovers (3)

Next, fold in the edge not to be seen and measure to make sure your cover is the right size and shape

CushionCovers (5)

Securely pin both edges and sew up.

Because I’m a bit of a perfectionist, I sewed up one edge and then measured again to make sure the next seam went in the right place

Trim the edges with pinking shears

CushionCovers (7)

Turn right side out and iron

CushionCovers (8)

Ta-da!!

CushionCovers (9)

Unfortunately, my second cushion wasn’t nearly so simple because the fabric was wider than necessary

However, this needn’t be an issue. Measure and trim a piece, remembering to keep the patterned edge of the fabric. Roughly sew a hem on the cut edge and repeat steps above, again remembering to keep the nice fabric edge as your edge to be seen

CushionCovers (10)

Wait for it… ta-da!

CushionCovers (11)

Comfy craft room now and I think they look pretty great together

CushionCovers (12)

All in all, I spent about two hours creating these lovelies and that includes time to hang out some laundry, have a chat with my mummy, make a couple of cuppas and cry over the width issue

I’m sew happy (sorry I resisted once, I couldn’t do it again!)

One response to “Super simple cushion covers

Leave a Reply

