Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

And now for something completely different…

on May 11, 2014

Whew, it’s been a crazy couple of weeks but I’m finally feeling on top of everything, albeit still a little under the weather.

Craftiness first? Or news first? Silly question

Remember this little mess I got myself into…

wpid-img_20140416_082951_264.jpg

Well, I got sorted easily enough and the mess soon became some utterly awesome (if I do say so myself) cycling gloves!!

cycleglovesThe pattern came from last month’s Simply Crochet which I had to have because of the bike themed makes and I will be making more I think

The crochet pattern is incredibly easy and can be worked up in a couple of hours.

The trickier part is the palm of the glove which requires some soft faux leather (easily obtained from eBay) which is cut to shape and roughly sewn on.

The first time I sewed one up, the finger holes were so tight, my fingers went purple and Steven had to rescue me!

So I just sewed them a lot looser and all is good.

I haven’t actually worn them cycling yet but there’s time.

Onto the news portion of today’s post.

First, I’ve got a new job which I start after the honeymoon. I didn’t really apply for it, nor have I been properly interviewed but my work at Costa stands me in very good stead in the coffee world and I’ve done a couple of trial shifts which went well.

The job is both closer to home (I could even cycle!) and more money and I should be taking on a supervisory role with a view to becoming manager so much better prospects than currently.

Second (and much more exciting), we’re getting married in a week! A WEEK!! Which is not only ridiculously exciting in and of itself but means I can finally line up some wedding craft related posts!

Excited is not even the word at this point, I’m amazed my head hasn’t exploded!

 

4 responses to “And now for something completely different…

  1. itwasjudith says:

    congratulations!!!
    🙂

  2. Exciting stuff! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

