Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

FO: more sheep!

on March 12, 2014

Budgie the Sheep went down an absolute storm with everyone who met him. So much so that my mum requested one of her own

Here he is, with his big brother

Image

 

Budgie was made using yarn from my stash so ‘Saw the Sheep’ (there is a tale behind the name) is made from a different brown and his body is all oatmeal rather than being a mix. Mum and Steven were both of the opinion that the sheep needed eyes so I bowed to pressure and sewed on a couple of little buttons… personally I don’t like them but Mum was chuffed

But I couldn’t stop there, I wanted another so may I introduce Cappuccino the Sheep (also pictured sitting with his big brother)

Image

I love the way their heads tilt at the same angle!

Cappuccino was made using a simple black and the same brown as Saw but I worked the fleece slightly differently to speed things up a little.

I really do love this pattern, which is from SImply Crochet issue 13 and designed by Toft, and I may have to make even more sheep in the future (or perhaps alter the pattern to make some other animals?)

The pattern was very easy to follow and although the fleece is slightly tricky to work, the effect is amazing.

Normally, I’m not a fan of toy patterns that require you to sew together the separate pieces but the way the legs and ears are attached make the sewing up an absolute breeze.

I can’t think of a single problem I had (apart from my complete obsession with the little critters of course!) although I do think that the Toft yarns are a bit pricey for making stuffed animals.

It’s a shame, really, that sheep come in so few colours…

2 responses to “FO: more sheep!

  1. berkelia says:

    They are gorgeous!! I made a crochet lamb some weeks ago… here is the link in case you want to have a look at it πŸ™‚ http://acraftyginger.com/2014/03/16/a-little-lamb-for-cloe/

Leave a Reply

