Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

A little catch up and another FO!

on January 29, 2014

So, a while back I was ‘chatting’ with a fellow blogger about a jumper that she was drooling over (you can find her post here)

It turns out that she had only recently discovered the pattern but I’d already made the jumper and was planning another version

I meant to blog about it at the time, of course, especially since I knitted it in a week but somehow never quite got around to it

Well, I finished the second one last weekend so it’s almost the perfect time

The pattern is a lovely intarsia heart jumper by Martin Storey which was featured in an issue of Simply Knitting last winter

Here is my first one

DSCF2971 DSCF2973I love it and I wear it all the time but it is huge!

The pattern is designed to be oversize but, to be perfectly honest, when you’re a little bigger (and, yes, maybe a little sensitive about it) a jumper that’s over 10cm too big and knitted in chunky yarn is not going to be flattering

And now that I’ve lost a little weight, my poor heart jumper rarely leaves the house

So, I decided to knit my other jumper in the smallest size so it was a bit more fitted

I also decided that maybe another heart jumper was too… same-y and that the gorgeous silvery yarn I’d bought was perhaps more suited to a star motif (just a little obsessed with stars!)

So I re-designed it and here it is

DSCF2976 DSCF2975I love the colours and I’m mostly pleased with how the star turned out

However, I wore it to the hospital the other day and it felt a little tight and the sleeves a little shorter than I normally like

Having said that, I was really worked up about my appointment so perhaps just channelling my frustration

Speaking of which, I’ve been discharged! It’s been nearly two years since my treatment and the consultant is happy with progress so no more six-monthly trips to the clinic

Again, a very happy Vix

 

 

6 responses to “A little catch up and another FO!

  1. I love the jumper! What a great result!

  2. Megan-Anne says:

    I think you look adorable!

Leave a Reply

