Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

A ponderance on unusual yarns

on October 23, 2013

I have to admit to being a bit of a traditionalist when it comes to yarn. I tend to use yarns between 4ply and chunky, rarely super chunky and all these new novelty yarns hold absolutely no interest.

However, I’ve fallen in love with a pattern from the latest Mollie Makes. They’ve posted the pattern on their blog so check it out here.

The yarn in question is Louisa Harding’s Luzia but at £15 a ball, it’s way out of my price range. Well, okay, I could afford it if I scrimped on the other yarn and Steven has offered to buy it for me for Xmas but I resent paying so much for something so small (the pattern calls for two balls of Luzia plus some DK)

So, my ponderance is: what yarn, if any, could I replace it with?

Randomly enough, I dug out my knitted glove pattern (mine have gone astray) and one version uses a discontinued yarn from Stylecraft (Gypsy) which has a similar effect but the yarns seem to be categorised differently with Luzia as ‘fur’ and Gypsy as ‘eyelash’

Can anyone help me please? I’ve got no experience with these yarns but I fear my lust for the stole is too great to resist

Please please please?

6 responses to “A ponderance on unusual yarns

  1. itwasjudith says:

    I think that eyelash is less full in its “extensions” than fur yarn. Here is an example of fur yarn that I recently purchased for some Erika Knight welly toppers:


    http://www.yarnandcraftshop.co.uk/products/Erika-Knight-Fur-Wool.html
    http://blog.chelseayarns.com/2012/12/erika-knight-yarns.html

    Also, the fur wool here in example is almost pure wool, while eyelash would seem to have less woolly content, for what I’ve seen.

    For the pattern you like, fur yarn would seem more appropriate 🙂

    my 2 cents…

    • Vix says:

      Ooo, thanks for that. The Erika Knight fur yarn looks a lot of fun but it’s very different looking from the Luzia *sigh* Maybe I’ll have to go and fondle some in my LYS 🙂

  2. Sorry I have no idea about those kind of yarns either but thanks for pointing me in the direction of this pattern! Its absolutley gorgeous!

  3. I think if you check out Deramores or some equally large online emporium you’ll find some cheaper fur yarn; I’m sure I’ve seen some recently – sorry to be a bit vague!

Leave a Reply

