Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Sewing progress

on May 22, 2013

Just a few quick pics today (it’s almost time for The Apprentice!)

DSCF2714DSCF2715

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the first practice piece, I started by sewing a square in the middle and then a double hem along one edge (sorry the pics aren’t great, I had to turn the flash off so the stitches would show up)

Not bad for a first attempt though, right?

Next I had to practice sewing onto a piece of crochet, which was ok but had to be sewn crochet side up so it was difficult to guide the piece properly.

This practice piece was used more than once and, as such, was unsuitable for photographing

So, here is a finished notebook (mine/practice)


DSCF2721
DSCF2723

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF2720

 

Again, this was sewn crochet side up so the stitching is far from perfect

DSCF2725DSCF2726

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

However, my stitching genius came up with an amazing solution – pin a piece of greaseproof paper on the other side of the crochet and then you can sew it fabric side up and guide the stitching along the lining!

It works like a charm and Mum’s notebook looks much better

DSCF2727 DSCF2728 DSCF2729 DSCF2730Still not perfect but she was really pleased with it so I’m really happy too.

Right, that took longer than planned so I’m off for telly and more crochet (and maybe some wine…)

 

4 responses to “Sewing progress

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    I love the book covers! They look fantastic even if the stitches aren’t even.

  2. I think they’re great! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster award! I was lucky enough to have my blog nominated and it’s a pay it forward rolling award. Plus I love reading your posts! More info at http://mollieandclaire.wordpress.com/2013/05/23/liebster-award-for-mollie-and-claire/. X

Leave a Reply

