Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Lace Cardi – finished!

on May 6, 2013

First off sorry for the delay in posting this update, things are bit crazy here at the moment.

Anyway, I think my feelings about this cardigan can be summed up in… six words – love the project, hate the pattern!

Although, after actually wearing the piece today, I don’t love it quite so much as I did (maybe seven words, add ‘mostly’ at the beginning!)

I’ve posted about the problems I had with the pattern but I eventually managed to figure things out, finished the cardi last week and left it to block

Pinned

 

I hate blocking, mostly because I’m never quite convinced it works (maybe I’m doing it wrong?) I have this fear that I’ll remove the pins and the piece will instantly shrivel back to it’s pre-blocked state

Unpinned

 

But it worked out ok! It was still a little damp in places so I hung it up for a while to completely dry. Tried it on first of course

ByMe

 

I’m a bit disappointed because it gapes a little at the front and is a bit tight on the arms and at the shoulders but overall I think it’s lovely

I wore it properly for the first time today

Wearing (1)Wearing (3)

 

 

I’m not sure how much it shows but the sleeves do shrink a little with wear (thank goodness I made them longer than recommended or they’d be ridiculous)

The button-holes and the buttons were a pain in the neck but I really love them

Wearing (2)

 

The button necklace was a gift from Steven, bought at a local craft fair on Saturday. Isn’t it pretty? It’s just a shame it covers the top button of the cardi but the colours are an amazing match.

I’ve got a lot to say about the dodgy pattern and how I fixed it but, since this post is already a little lengthy and it’s getting late, I’ll save that for another day.

Also, Steven took me to Hobbycraft today so I’ve got goodies to show off and a lot of upcoming projects to tell you about.

Just a little note: Steven’s now working nights so posts will be later in the day than I would like, I hope you all still manage to stop by for news

4 responses to “Lace Cardi – finished!

  1. katescrochet says:

    That looks really good – well done for sticking with the pattern, sounds like a bit of a nightmare x

  2. […] I’ve mentioned this but it seemed the ideal project to use up the yarn I had leftover from my Lace Cardi (remember that […]

Leave a Reply

