Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Cricket Jumper – finished!

on April 22, 2013

I finally finished it! And have been wearing it ever since!

DSCF7065 DSCF7059

 

I really love the way it turned out but it is definitely a little big.

So, the pattern came from Knitting magazine issue 101 from August last year.

I used Stylecraft Special in cream for the main and James C Brett Twinkle for the accent.

I think the overall effect is really nice, the style is very classic but the sparkle gives it that little extra something.

The yarns are both easy to work with and the pattern was fairly simple to follow.

Typically, though, there were some issues. The pattern placements for the sleeves have been written wrong so if you’re making this, check them first so you don’t have to rip out a row (as I did).

Apart from that and some minor confusion over increasing, all was fine.

I found the back quite a trial because the pattern isn’t challenging and cream DK has never been my favourite yarn. But when I eventually got started on the front, because I knew my row count, I skipped through it and finished it up in about three weeks.

I mentioned before that when I started (all those many months ago) I was a bit bigger than I am now so the jumper is a bit too big.

I was hoping that the rib pattern would help it to mould to my shape and I think it does but the pattern also means the fabric is quite bulky so it’s not a slimming as I would have liked.

Overall though, I’m a very happy Vix and I might even consider knitting this again… just not in cream!

DSCF2632 DSCF2631 DSCF2630

 

Love it!!

2 responses to “Cricket Jumper – finished!

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    Looks great!

Leave a Reply

