Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

The journey will be almost ends-less!

on September 27, 2012

So, after the painful few hours I spent weaving in those 52 ends (see previous post – Look Mum, no ends!) I decided to try a different technique.

First here’s a pic of the first six all sewn together

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have to admit that I often hurry my ends; it’s a job that I hate so I do it as quickly as possible

However, because I want this blanket to be both robust and reversible, I wanted to make sure that the ends were really well done so they didn’t ruin the look or the usability of the blanket.

So, I’ve actually been doing it properly! Weaving in a few inches one way and then coming back the other way which should ensure the ends stay put.

However, it also means nearly twice the time and effort.

I’d read about a technique in knitting where you can weave the ends in as you go (probably in The Knitting and Crochet Biblereview) so I thought I’d try it with my crochet

The colour changes make things interesting but once you get used to it, it works quite nicely.

And it’s pretty much as simple as crocheting over the ends as you work along.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, obviously, this is how it would normally look, crocheting into a chain space (ch sp)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But to weave in the ends as you go, you need to catch the end and work over the top of it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see, the end moves around as your work does

If you’re careful, you can even work both ends in on one row but try not to do them together as this will make the work thicker so it might look uneven.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lay the end around the work so it doesn’t pull too tight or hang too loose when you get to the start of the row

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then work it as before, catching the end under the stitches as you work them

Obviously, the start and end can’t be woven in in the same way (although if you’re working with a chain ring and not a magic circle it might work) and you need to weave the other ends back slightly but it’s much quicker.

Unfortunately, with a colour change almost every row, it takes a bit more concentration to actually crochet the motif so that takes a little bit longer.

But it’s so worth it!

2 responses to “The journey will be almost ends-less!

  1. Verónica says:

    Sewing in all those ends is what puts me off from crocheting a granny square blanket. I recoil at the very thought! I’ll have to study your suggestion and see if I can take the plunge!

    • Vix says:

      I know exactly what you mean, I nearly didn’t start this one because of all the ends and sewing up but I loved it too much not to.
      Spend some time practicing and see how you get on.
      Good luck
      x

Leave a Reply

