Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Birthday treats!

on August 18, 2012

It was my  birthday earlier this week and I was thoroughly spoilt!

I was given lots of lovely crafty goodies so I though I’d brag about it a little

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aren’t they lovely?!

The first prezzie I opened was from my brother and his girlfriend, it was in a lovely Union Flag bag and covered with tissue paper.

This is what I found

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d given this as an idea to my mum so I was particularly surprised to find it.

It’s a selection of cotton DK which I’m planning to use for a crochet hook case (which I will be designing myself). And there will be plenty left over for other goodies!

Next there were assorted goodies from mum and Steven

Among other, non-craft-related goodies, mum bought me: a beautiful yarn bowl; two balls of SWTC Oasis; and Mel Clark’s Knitting Everyday Finery.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are loads of really gorgeous patterns in the book and I’m already pricing up a couple of projects (you know, because I don’t have enough already!)

The yarn I’ve been drooling over for months and months and months.

It’s 100% Soy Silk which is made from the waste material created from making tofu. It’s made by the SouthWest Trading Company and comes in a range of lovely colours, both solid and variegated.

It’s quite expensive so I was trying to figure out what I could make with a single ball (hint: not a lot) so it seemed like the perfect addition to the birthday list.

Apparently it was the first thing mum bought!

The yarn bowl is handmade in the UK by a lovely lady called Victoria at Little Wren Pottery and it was made especially for me!

I can’t wait to use it!

Steven also bought me some non-craft-related goodies but he also bought me loads of crafty bits: the yarn and buttons to make a lovely crochet cardigan; a tunisian crochet hook; two craft books; and a beautiful journal/notebook (not technically crafty but you’ll see my reason for including it)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isn’t it lovely? It’s hand finished and comes from Paperchase and I love, love, love it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first book is One Ball Knits: Accessories by the Habibur-Rahman sisters. It’s got some gorgeous patterns in and I was hoping it would help with the ‘what to do with the soy silk issue’

Unfortunately, the piece I really fell in love with is knitted in aran and the Oasis yarn is DK…

The second book is Crochet for Bears to Wear by Amy O’Neill Houck and I’m very excited to make some more outfits for Wooty Bear and Bella Bear (you met them in my previous post, chilling out with Travel Zingy)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tunisian crochet hooks are quite difficult to find around here but I found an ebay shop selling both the hook and the yarn I need to make a lovely shrug from Inside Crochet.

Unfortunately, I forgot to explain about the yarn and poor Steven couldn’t decipher my code so I’ll be choosing that myself

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I saw these yummy buttons advertised somewhere and simply had to have them. They’re from an Etsy seller called TeaByDesign and I thought they’d be perfect.

I pointed Steven in the right direction for yarn (brand and type) and he picked the colour. I love it and the cardi will be gorgeous

Another nice surprise was a gift from Steven friends who visited us a couple of weeks ago

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wasn’t expecting anything so these perfect gifties were very exciting

So, all in all, I’d say I’m a very lucky lady (although, at 27, I’m now officially in my late twenties) and I can’t wait to sort through all my goodies and get started on some new projects

With all this new-ness, I think my project count is now up to twelve (TWELVE), although only three are actually on-the-metal.

Sorry for the immense post but I’m so chuffed with my gifties!

7 responses to “Birthday treats!

  1. Russell Farr-Jones says:

    What a fantastic range of crafty birthday gifts! I’m especially excited about your Tunisian crochet hook – I just ordered some from eBay myself and have the yarn I need to make a Tunisian cable afghan. I look forward to hearing what you do with it.

    And those buttons are from one of the crochet magazines (I forget whether it was Inside Crochet or Crochet Today). I remember because I was drooling over them and very tempted to buy!!

    Happy birthday!! x

    • Vix says:

      Thanks Russell!
      I’ll look out for your Tunisian crochet too. I’m still hunting for my yarn but I’m pretty sure I know what I’m after
      I thought I saw the buttons in Inside Crochet but I’ve got no idea which issue it was now. I’m so excited to start my cardigan, I even enjoyed weaving in some ends this evening to finish a project so I can start it sooner 🙂
      x

  2. agujasblog says:

    Now those are great presents!

  3. Oooh you’re so lucky! Everyone seems to be posting about birthday goodies at the moment! I’m jealous…I have to wait until December 😦

    • Vix says:

      Haha, at least you’ll get double the presents because of xmas! I can’t wait to get started on all my new projects (just to rub it in a little more :D)
      x

      • Haha that’s true and this year it is my 21st so I’ll get to pick something extra special to as for 😛 Haha that’s ok, by December hopefully I’ll have lots of presents so it will be worth the wait! x

  4. […] Remember all the goodies I was given? Check them out here. […]

Leave a Reply

