Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

‘Vintage’ Lacy Collar – finished!

on July 16, 2012

I fell in love with this pattern as soon as I first discovered the book Knitting Vintage so, of course, it was the first thing I made when I eventually bought the book.

However, my first attempt wasn’t quite right. I’d decided to use 4-ply instead of DK mostly because I had so much left over from my Tuxedo Vest but I was also interested in a nicely delicate collar.

I think it looks great, even before blocking really and I love the button!

Unfortunately, it was far too tight and felt uncomfortable as well as looking very bad.

Before giving up on this one entirely, I decided to try and fix it. However, it sat waiting for said fix for a while before I finally got around to it

I decided the easiest way was simply to knit another scallop, add the garter stitch border and attach it to the existing collar, moving the button in the process.

And here it is (unblocked!)

I have to say, I think the join looks pretty damn good (especially considering it will probably be worn with the button at the back)

So, after blocking (possibly the first project I’ve ever blocked properly) it looks like this

I still think the join looks good and the edges have lost their distorting ruffle but the blocking actually brought to light a problem I hadn’t anticipated

Do you see it? The additional scallop is, for some inexplicable reason, smaller than the others

I have to say, though, I don’t care! I love this little gem and cannot wait to wear it!

Here’s a close up of the scallop detail

Love it, love it, love it! I will definitely be making more and I have a lovely pattern for a crochet collar (courtesy of Lulu Loves) and a few more patterns for plainer knitted collars from this months Simply Knitting

I’ll try not to make too many… no promises though!

2 responses to “‘Vintage’ Lacy Collar – finished!

  1. Looks great! You were a tad more successful blocking yours than I was with mine: http://mancunianvintage.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/crafty-vintage-detachable-lacy-collar/ but I love it that much I don’t care!

    • Vix says:

      Yours still looks great though, I was worried mine looked a bit flat (always a worry when ironing knitwear) I still haven’t had a chance to wear it unfortunately but I’m working on some more so expect some more pics soon.
      What about you? Any plans to make more?

Leave a Reply

