Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Magazine misadventures

on June 20, 2012

You all know my previous problems trying to get hold of a copy of Inside Crochet (see previous post – Obsessive, compulsive)

I eventually managed to get that particular copy two weeks after it was supposed to be released. So, when I couldn’t get the next issue on it’s scheduled release date, I wasn’t too worried, assuming that it would be in the shops a couple of weeks afterwards.

Well, here we are three weeks later and still no issue 31!

I tried going to the blog to see if there were any hints there… no updates since March and the current issue is still listed as issue 28.

Then I tried the website, which I’ve never found particularly useful anyway, it no longer exists!

The publisher (All Craft Media or ACM) had a seperate website but this is filled with dummy text and nonsense.

I e-mailed the general contact e-mail last week to ask about getting a copy of the latest issue or a subscription and pointed out that the blog was well behind and the website non-existant. Needless to say, I haven’t had a reply.

After a couple more checks in Woodbridge’s WHSmith (only while I was there, no more special trips to get my magazines!) I got really fed up of the disappointment.

So, I’ve been sitting at my computer trying my very hardest to get to the bottom of this mystery and I think I’ve finally cracked it (thanks to some designer/bloggers who have been having bigger problems with ACM than mine)!

First, I found this post by Jenna at SewHappyGeek which details her problems with getting paid and getting her samples back from Modern Quilting magazine.

Apparently, this is not unusual.

Jenna links to various other blogs and articles about other designers having issues with ACM and related websites.

Here are a few:

Alex at Dull Roar gives a brief (and very interesting) history of ACM and associated websites

Joyuna at Joyarna looks at the issues with the company’s sock club

Anniken Allis over at Confessions of a Yarn Addict had perhaps the best piece of info in her May update

What was the precious information, you ask? Many magazines previously published by ACM have been taken on by Tailor Made Publishing

Now, the website looks very basic and I’ve never heard of TMP so this may be a fledging publishing company or, judging by the history, another dodgy ACM based company but I suppose only time will tell.

I’ll keep an eye on the situation and keep you informed and if anyone has got anymore info on the subject, I’d love to hear it

 

6 responses to “Magazine misadventures

  1. Russell Farr-Jones says:

    Hi Vix

    I believe the latest issue is 30 (the one with the dog wearing a union jack coat on the cover). I paid for a subscription earlier this year and I received that copy only a few weeks ago, albeit late. There was a letter inside saying they had just changed printers due to various issues with the previous one.

    According to Newsstand the next issue is due on 28th June. You can buy individual copies from them if you can’t find it in the shops: http://www.newsstand.co.uk/247-Knitting-and-Crochet-Magazines/11534-Subscribe-to-INSIDE-CROCHET-Magazine-Subscription.aspx

    I would also check out Crochet Today, its an American publication you can also get trough Newsstand and I think it’s a lot better than Inside Crochet.

    • Vix says:

      Hey Russell,
      According to my copy of IC issue 30, the next issue should have been out on 31st May but there’s been no sign of it. I find it strange that you received your subscriber copy late too…
      I just bought the latest Crochet Today but I wasn’t as impressed as I normally am. I do love to African Flower blanket though, yarn shopping is definitely on the cards!

      • Russell Farr-Jones says:

        To be honest I never checked my latest issue before I commented, I just checked Newsstand. I wonder where Newsstand gets its information from.

        I’ve not paid much attention to delivery dates for my subscription, but I know that some people have had problems over the last few months with not receiving an issue. I’ve just checked their Twitter feed and they haven’t tweeted since April!

        I admit the latest issue of Crochet Today was a bit of a disappointment – they are usually so good, and have more fashionable things to make than Inside Crochet. The only problem with that magazine is everything is made in yarn you can only get from the US.

        I think I’m going to start paying more attention to my subscriptions. Will let you know if I hear anything else.

      • Vix says:

        Thanks Russell,
        It’ll be such a shame if we lose IC, especially since CT is only six times a year
        Let me know if you hear anything

  2. Russell Farr-Jones says:

    I’ve just received issue 31 – it has a broomstick Tunisian top on it. There is a letter from the new editor inside saying its been bought by another company, has a mix of old and new team, and the magazine will be revamped for issue 32! Hurrah!

    • Vix says:

      Hey Russell, I bought mine yesterday too! I’m excited about the redesign but I do still think the whole thing is a little suspect. Still, Inside Crochet lives! x

Leave a Reply

