Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

The sunshine keeps on coming!

on June 15, 2012

Catching up on my blog reading today, I realised that a very good blog friend of mine has awarded me the Sunshine Blogger Award!

I’m so chuffed that she thinks so much of my blog and my crafts and I am infinitely disappointed that I can’t nominate her right back so please please run over there and check out her blog, Cross(stitch) Your Heart

Ok, so here are the rules of the Sunshine Blogger:

  1. Include the award logo in a post or somewhere on your blog.
  2. Answer 10 questions about yourself
  3. Nominate 10 to 12 other fabulous bloggers.
  4. Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blog, letting them know about the award.
  5. Share the love and link the person who nominated you

Ten questions about myself? I’m really plucking ideas out of the air here…

What has been your biggest life changing moment? As corny as it sounds, it has to be the day I met Steven. We actually met online and met for real a few days later for an epic nine-hour first date. He truly is my strength and my inspiration

Who is/are your idol/s and why? This one’s really tricky. Obviously there are people I look up to but I always try to be my own person with my own ideas and opinions. Having said that, people like T over at Cross(stitch) Your Heart really inspire me. T has done so much that I’d love to do myself, if only I had the time and the drive. My family are also a real inspiration and I try to live up to their expectations (or… what I think they expect of me)

What’s your favourite book? I don’t think I have one all time favourite because I love reading new things. I did, however, vehemently chase a copy of Dark Cathedral by Freda Warrington on eBay and eventually won it for over £20!

What five things do you hate the most? I really hate word mash-ups like ‘staycation’ and the way they’ve become acceptable, even on the news. I hate it when people try to push their beliefs onto others or try to belittle what they believe, especially when it comes to my religion and my ethics. I hate the new Batman movies (you know, all this Dark Knight stuff – yawn!) I hate injustice and mistreatment of people and animals. I hate the four-letter c word (it carries a £10 penalty in my house!)

What’s your favourite place? I love Southwold, it’s a lovely town just up the coast from me. It’s got a gorgeous pier, some lovely beaches and a nice little town (although we sometimes struggle to find a nice place to eat). It’s also where Steven and I met. But, to be honest, I don’t like to craft at the beach so I also love to stay at home with a good movie and better company

If you could master any skill what would it be? I’d love to figure out how to talk to people who are trying to belittle or bully me, without getting angry and upset and yelling at them. Also, fair isle, entrelac, continental knitting…

Where do you see yourself in five years? Hopefully at home with a baby or two, a kitchen full of freshly baked goodies and a craft project in my hands

What object could you not live without? I hate to say it, but it’s my mobile! I use it for so much, networking, blogging, checking the news, getting craft advice from YouTube!

What is your biggest vice? Probably food… or maybe nail varnish… no it could be craft books and magazines right now. No idea

What is your best attribute? I like to think I’m generally a nice person, I always help people when I can and I love to make other people smile

Right, nominate ten to twelve other bloggers… again, it’s confession time. I do read a lot of blogs but I try to keep this one craft-related and there are only five craft blogs I read regularly.

One of them is Cross(stitch) Your Heart obviously

The other four (and hence, my nominations) are:

Knitting for Mental Health

The Man Who Knits

The Sweaty Knitter

Crayons and Milk

So, now I’m off to let them all know and put some more goodies in the oven (chelsea buns today!)

4 responses to “The sunshine keeps on coming!

  1. Knoob says:

    Hiya Vix, thanks for nominating my blog! I love Southwold too, especially for the Adnams ale! I will probably be down there next month for Latitude festival ❤

  2. […] you to Vix Knits for nominating me as a recipient of the Sunshine Blogger Award!   It is awarded to “bloggers […]

  3. Russell Farr-Jones says:

    Thanks for the nomination Vix. That’s very kind of you!

  4. […] Aug 27, 2012 –>  Another BIG THANK YOU to vix knits… and crochets and sews… and Dear Ms Migraine for the Sunshine Blogger award […]

Leave a Reply

