Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Amazing discoveries and new inspiration

on June 4, 2012

First off, apologies for my absence. I’ve been horribly poorly with sinus problems and a bad throat and last week was a whirlwind of meds, errands and interviews.

I actually had three last week, two on Wednesday and one on Friday. I haven’t heard back from the one I really want but I’ve been offered one of the others (the better of the two).

It puts me in a bit of a quandary but all-in-all I feel pretty good (most of the time)

It also means I’ve got lots of extra time for crafting and writing!

Progress on the cricket jumper is slow but I’m plodding along with it.

I find it very tricky to work on with Steven next to me (not enough elbow room) so I tend to leave it for when he’s not about.

It’s also quite dull as it’s a simple rib/cable pattern but I really want it so I’ll persevere!

I’m also working on several small projects to fill time when in the car or when I’m bored with cabling cream DK or when I’m a bit short on time or just when I feel like making significant progress on something.

Among these small projects are two recently completed crochet designs.

I’m trying not to say too much on the subject but I’m designing pieces for a book idea.

I’ve got loads of ideas and am doing really well designing and making them.

As well as all this, I’ve recently discovered two great books

The first is called Tasty Knits and is a compilation of some of the Twenty to Make series by Search Press.

I love novelty knits and I love food so this is a brilliant indulgence for me.

The second is The Knitting and Crochet Bible which is essentially The Knitting Bible  and The Crochet Bible bound together.

I cannot express how much I love, love, love the knitting section of this book.

Techniques (from beginner to advanced) are fully explained and now I’m itching to try out some more advanced and adventurous knitting.

I hope to post more detailed reviews later so I won’t say too much now.

I’ve also discovered a new yarn shop and heard about another that I plan to visit this week.

My mum mentioned one in Woodbridge that I didn’t know about so we popped in there during my latest hunt for yarn.

It’ s not my usual type of yarn shop as they stock the higher end, branded (and hence expensive) yarns, but it’s great to know they’re there for when I do need something a bit special.

They also stock Manos del Uruguay yarn which I’ve been looking for for ages.

My cousin mentioned the other this morning and I’m very intrigued to have a peek around.

I’m feeling really inspired and I can’t wait to get some existing projects finished so I can experiment with some new techniques and some serious designing.

And, on that note, I think I’ll sign off and get knitting!

One response to “Amazing discoveries and new inspiration

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    Sounds like things are going fantastically for you. Good luck with the job both the one you’ve been offered and the one you’re hoping for as well as all your projects. I just love those days when I feel inspired in everything, hope things continue!

Leave a Reply

