Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Obsessive, compulsive

on May 10, 2012

It’s a well-known fact that crafters can be obsessive hoarders, the famous ‘yarn stash’ is a much written about topic and can be both a source of pride and frustration.

I’ve planned a post about it myself but a new obsession is clouding my brain… books and magazines!

I’ve always been a big reader but now I’m struggling to stop myself from buying any and every knitting and crochet book and magazine I come across.

Fortunately (for once) I’m a crafter on a budget so I have to rein myself in.

I’ve recently become tired of knitting magazines like Simply Knitting and Knit Today (too many tea cosies) in favour of more advanced magazines such as The Knitter and Knitting.

The problem I have is waiting a month between issues. So I sat down with all my latest copies and figured out that my three favourites (Inside Crochet, Knitting and The Knitter) all came out at different times so I could buy one a week for three weeks and not get too impatient.

Unfortunately, Inside Crochet isn’t very easy to find. I can’t get it in my hometown or my boyfriend’s hometown six miles away. I haven’t often found it in the major supermarkets we visit on a regular basis, which are around 20-25 miles away, or the large WHSmith in my local big shopping town (also 25 miles away)

I can usually find it in Woodbridge, which works out well since it’s one of my favourite places to visit. It’s only 15 miles away, an easy drive, easy parking, contains my favourite coffee shop, my favourite haberdashery shop and a lovely bookshop.

Well, the latest issue of Inside Crochet should have been out on the 30th of April but the WHSmith in Woodbridge haven’t even got an old issue or a gap for it!

Needless to say, it’s getting me down as I’m running out of options. I’ve looked everywhere I can think of. I was going to subscribe and hope I could still start with the latest issue but the website is, frankly, rubbish and tells me there are no printed copies of anything. On the Inside Crochet blog, they had details of a new digital version being released but that too is no more.

So, the options I’m left with are: go without; keep looking; telephone every newsagents in a thirty mile radius to try and find it; or order the digital version from Yudu and hope I can a) send it to my Kindle and b) enjoy it properly on said Kindle.

None of these options are thrilling me but the latest issue of Knitting was released today so I’ll just have to content myself with that for now…

I’d love to hear from anyone who knows Yudu better than I do, I’m not sure if I can return the magazine if it turns out to be too tricky

4 responses to “Obsessive, compulsive

  1. Knoob says:

    Will your newsagents not get magazines in for you? They may well get you a copy in if they’re guaranteed the sales every month.

  2. […] adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts « Obsessive, compulsive May […]

  3. […] You all know my previous problems trying to get hold of a copy of Inside Crochet (see previous post – Obsessive, compulsive) […]

Leave a Reply

