Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Union Jack Slipover – advice needed!

on April 1, 2012

I’ve mentioned briefly that I’m working on a secret project for my boyfriend, Steven (see Current Projects) although ‘working on’ might be a bit strong becasue the project has been sitting (hidden) for months.

It all started in the summer when I somehow found a free pattern for an intarsia Union Jack Slipover, Steven and I both like Union Jacks and I wanted to try intarsia since I’m rubbish at Fair Isle.

For those of you who don’t know, intarsia and Fair Isle are colour-working techniques. Fair Isle tends to be used for smaller patterns as the yarn is carried across the back of the work. Intarsia uses extra balls or bobbins of yarn to work blocks of colour. Both have their pros and cons but I haven’t mastered Fair Isle and I wanted to get some colour-work under my belt

So, I thought I’d have a go at this project, the yarn requirements were small, it involved a new technique and would make a lovely gift for my beloved other half.

I started knitting when I was in bed poorly and made some amazing progress. I finished the back fairly quickly… and then stopped.

I’d made a fatal mistake. While I was feeling poorly and insecure, I’d mentioned it to Steven (it wasn’t just an off-the-cuff remark, we’d seen something similar in a shop and were talking about it) and he didn’t seem very impressed with the idea.

He tried to reassure me (‘he’ll love it because I knitted it’) but I lost my interest in the project. At the time, the back wasn’t quite finished so I pretended I wasn’t going to carry on with it and finished it rather slowly.

The other issue is the jumper that I actually did finish for him. He loves it but I hate it! I’m not sure what happened but it looks really baggy and shapeless on him (I’m a bit worried the same will happen with the slipover but I think I can make it work) and the collar doesn’t quite sit right.

The first problem is probably tension related and the second could be solved by blocking (two of my biggest problems, mostly stemming from my impatience.

Back to the slipover, my issue now is: do I finish it, do I turn it into something else or do I give it up as a bad job and find him something else?

I’m really pleased with how it looks (although I think the red is a little too bright) and I’ve worked really hard on it so I’m not keen on option three

Option two could acually be more work than finishing it so I’m not keen on that either

If I’d knitted the front instead of the back (I’ve never quite worked out why all patterns start with the back) I’d probably knit the back plain and be quite satisfied but I can’t do that now

So, I guess I’ve just answered my own question… I suppose I’m more looking for reassurance so let me know what you think

Not bad for a first attempt, right?

Well, his birthday is this month so I guess I should get started on that front. Wish me luck!!

2 responses to “Union Jack Slipover – advice needed!

  1. Not experianced enough to give you advice but must say this looks so cool!

  2. Vix says:

    Thanks very much, haven’t actually managed to start the front yet but it’s on the agenda for tomorrow

Leave a Reply

