Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Versatile Blogger Award

on March 26, 2012

I’m so shocked and touched to be nominated for/awarded the Versatile Blogger Award! I think I squeaked for about half an hour afterwards and practically screamed the news at my nearest and dearest.

So, the rules for the VBA are as follows (taken from the VBA blog)

If you are nominated, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger award.

  • Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  • Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
  • Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. ( I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!)
  • Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.
  • Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

So, hugely massive thanks (and some virtual hugs and kisses) go out to Cross(stitch) Your Heart for the nomination. I’m devastated that I can’t re-nominate this blog (at least, I don’t think I can) because I really do love it and read it regularly (I’ve even been known to re-read posts more than once)

Next, I have a small confession to make… I don’t actually read 15 blogs. But, I do have a list of eight amazing blogs that I’d like to recognize (in no particular order)

  • The Man Who Knits: what more do I need to say, a man who knits is rare enough but one who blogs about it too?! Love it
  • 52 Crafts in 52 Weeks: this blog is actually written by a work friend of my mum’s and I’m loving keeping up with her pregnancy crafting
  • Vic’s Knits: searching for my own blog one day (who hasn’t?), I actually found this one and was surprised how similar we are
  • Knitting for Mental Health: I’ve only recently discovered this blog but I’m loving it so far
  • Eddie’s Room: I want to make those easter eggs and I’ll be smiling sweetly at my mum for nappies when the time comes
  • Knit and Tonic: I’m currently reading and working from one of the authors’ books (Custom Knits) and looking forward to he accessories version out in May
  • Sara Toole Miller: Many of you know, I’m also a writer and Sara’s post on the Oxford comma will stay with me until the day the die!
  • Invisible Ink: another writing blog, the author was one of my first ‘blog friends’ over on my religious blog

I’m so sorry to any crafty bloggers that I haven’t yet discovered but I am finding more every week, often thanks to links on other blogs, so keep it up all!

Now, maybe the hardest part – seven things about myself!! (deep breath, here goes)

  • I’m always thinking about weddings and how I can incorporate my love of knitting and crochet into my wedding outfit, despite not actually being engaged… yet
  • I have a degree in journalism and photography and my career dream is to be a writer, possibly for a craft magazine
  • I love children and can already picture myself heavily pregnant, sitting in a rocking chair and knitting booties… and writing about it afterwards
  • I’m Pagan and I love being outside surrounded by nature
  • I’m a huge horror fan
  • I have a really amazing, supportive family
  • I also love to cook and bake and especially love to eat the goodies afterwards

I’m a little disappointed that I can’t think of anything more interesting to say but it’s surprisingly difficult (I almost gave up when I got to five!)

I’m still amazed by this whole thing so thank you again to Cross(stitch) Your Heart and good luck to all my nominees, I look forward to your VBA posts

 

2 responses to “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Russell Farr-Jones says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination Vix! Was a complete surprise when I saw the email come through this afternoon with your comment on my blog post. Brought a smile to my face on an otherwise dull Monday. I now have a topic for my next blog post! 🙂

  2. Christine says:

    Hi Vix, thank you for the nomination :).
    Yes I think we did meet once when I popped down to the library for one of my regular chats with your mum and Sheila. I miss them, hope they’re well, say hi to your mum for me please.

Leave a Reply

