Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Sew much to do…

on January 25, 2012

Craft wise, there’s been a lot happening here lately!

After finishing my tea cosy, I was feeling a bit lost trying to decide what to do next.

My boyfriend practically begged me for a mug cosy for work so it’s now sitting in my project bag waiting for some buttons (I’m strangely excited for my trip to my favourite haberdashery shop tomorrow!)

Unfortunately, it only took me a few hours to knit…

And I failed to find a knitting design book while we were shopping so I had to settle for a couple of magazines instead.

Fortunately, the magazines are really good. February’s Knit Today (issue 69) has some lovely little ‘quick knits’ and a gorgeous chunky knit jumper and Inside Crochet (issue 29) is packed with beautiful designs.

I’m focussing on crochet at the moment and I’ve already learnt FOUR new techniques! I’m using them to design a little bag; I keep having to take it out but I’m really enjoying it.

I ended up ordering a knitting design book online so look out for my (probably disastrous) attempts at designing my own knits.

Over the weekend, I finally finished my Regency Handbag, the lining was a bit of a nightmare but it looks really good so I’m happy

I also tried (again!) to finish off a clip frame purse that I knitted ages ago, but I can’t get it to work so I think I’ll use poppers and buttons instead

So, as well as crocheting a neckerchief from Inside Crochet and working on my own bag, I’m planning loads of other projects and hoping to learn how to design my own.

We’re also talking about making some little bits and bobs to sell.

My town has a craft fair on the first Saturday of the month, starting in April so I’ve got plenty of time to make up some goodies.

I’m still a bit unsure but there are a lot of things I can make that won’t take much time or money to complete so it’s a feasible idea.

Let me know what you think!

One response to “Sew much to do…

  1. […] can’t believe how much I’ve achieved since I started this blog and since my Sew much to do… post. It’s been about three months since I started so I thought it was time for an […]

Leave a Reply

