Vix Knits… and crochets and sews…

My adventures in the wonderful world of arts and crafts

Hello and welcome!

on January 5, 2012

Hi there and welcome to my new blog, all about crafting.

I’m told that I’ve always been creative and crafting rather runs in my family. My paternal grandmother used to knit us stuffed toys, I remember fighting over one with my half sister, each of us badly wanting it but insisting the other had it.

My mum likes to knit, sew and cross-stitch and she has taught me many of her skills. She taught me to knit when I was young but I was quite rubbish back then. More recently, she decided to knit a baby blanket and cardigan for my pregnant aunt. I liked the pattern so I decided to try and knit the bootees and mittens that matched.

I have to say they were rather a success, despite the fact that I wasn’t casting on properly so the mittens looked a bit uneven (one was rocket shaped and the other looked more like a bullet!)

Well, my ‘baby’ cousin is now just over three years old! In that time, I’ve knitted loads of different things for various people (although mostly myself I have to admit). I used to be able to remember all my projects but I’ve done so many now that I’ve completely lost track.

I have a strange habit (or, at least, I’m told it’s a little strange) of keeping all of the ball bands from my projects so I wonder if I could go through them and write a list…

Anyway, I also love cross stitch and started that at quite an early age too. We even did some at school, I think.

I have to admit that I don’t cross stitch as much as I might like, I’ve got so many finished pieces sitting and waiting to be framed and there simply isn’t enough wall space!

I recently taught myself to crochet (about five or six moths ago, I think) and I’m currently working on my third/fourth crochet project. The second was an absolute disaster, although I’m still not sure if it was my fault or a dodgy pattern. Being as stubborn as I am, I plan to go back to it.

I can sew and I enjoy it but it tends to take a backseat to other crafts. Unlike my mum, I don’t know how to work from a pattern so my sewing tends to be limited to joining up knitwear and repairing clothes, although I am rather good at lining knitted bags and I’m working on a quilted blanket that everyone admires.

I’m hoping this blog will be a source of information to both myself and others, a place to share ideas and experiences and a chance to connect with people that I wouldn’t otherwise meet.

I plan to write about my own experiences, both good and bad and offer advice based on those experiences and I hope that readers of my blog will offer up their own experiences to share.

I’ll also talk about my current and future projects and, hopefully, this blog will encourage me to try even more new techniques and to write about them.

I don’t plan on posting ‘how to’ guides unless requested as I believe there are many of these available which are probably better than mine would be.

So, if you have any ideas on subjects to write about or projects to try out, please share them

Leave a Reply

